Applications now open. Apply now!


AFI Writers’ Room Ready is a program with the mission to cultivate the next generation of television scriptwriters by giving graduating Fellows an opportunity to work directly with established artists.

AFI Writers’ Room Ready highlights select original scripts from the year’s graduating Screenwriting class at AFI by pairing top writers with accomplished AFI Conservatory alumni mentors from the industry.

The 2019 recipients, mentors and their projects are:

  • Sofia Drumond-Moore, paired with Norberto Barba (AFI Class of 1990, producer/director on MAYANS M.C.)
  • Cari Daly, paired with Lizzy Weiss (AFI TV Writers Workshop, Class of 1994, creator and writer/executive producer of SWITCHED AT BIRTH)
  • Marco Evaristo Arizpe, paired with Manny Coto (AFI Class of 1984, writer and co-executive producer on 24: LEGACY)
  • Jessi Shuttleworth, paired with Alyson Feltes (AFI Class of 1991, co-executive producer on OZARK)
  • Sarah Swingley, paired with Jacqueline Hoyt (AFI Class of 2002, executive producer on DIETLAND)

Chosen by a panel of AFI alumni, the recipients were announced and honored at a reception on the AFI Campus on Thursday, March 16.